Healthier Stay


#A4Amonth Portrait Post

Posted in #A4Amonth,Newer Posts by Healthier Stay on August 21, 2012
Tags: , , , , , ,

I have decided to take part in the WEGOHealth blog carnival this week because I think this is a fantastic and fun way to blog. I have also had a very harsh year and I would like to use this opportunity to kick start my blogging again. I’ve missed you guys!

August 21 • Day 1: Portrait Post
Write a descriptive portrait of your loved one. Share qualities that make them, them – and include an image! (A photo or
creative work of them!)

I am writing about the two people I have advocated for the most {other than myself} my parents, Melissa and Dick. It may be a bit different from other caregiver blogs because they both passed away due to their illness. My father left us in 2005, and my mother just moved on in May of this year.

 

These are pictures of my parents as I remember them, healthy, vibrant, happy and enjoying their lives whole heartedly. I was privileged enough to be there to help my Dad as he fought Crohn’s disease and my Mom as she battled Cancer. I learned to be the person and writer I am by watching how they lived, loved, raised a family, fought for their strength and how they left us. I learned to advocate for myself through my Dad and I learned how to fight for and care for others from my Mumsy. These lessons are etched into my soul.

I have to admit, my grief is still suffocating me and I’m crying on my laptop right now, so this will be a short entry. Before I finish, I want to explain something to the other caregivers out there: We fight for our patients and we fight the disease and we do all that we can to navigate the healthcare world, but fighting until the end is NOT a failure. We are there to help them in any situation we can, up to and including having their backs until they go. It’s depressing as hell, I know, but it’s the truth. Do your best, give it your all and never regret being there for your patient!

3 Responses to '#A4Amonth Portrait Post'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to '#A4Amonth Portrait Post'.

  1. Cary Gossett said,

    Donna, this is such a beautiful and heartfelt post. I am so very sorry for your losses. Grieving feels overwhelming and permanent, but it is not. Your courage and passions will see you through soon.

    I am ecstatic to see you’ve posted again. Long time. Worth the wait.

    Keep up the good fight.

    Best,

    C


    • Thank you so much Cary. Your support helps a lot. I know this will improve over time, I just have to breathe and try to find things to enjoy in the meantime. Thank you again!

  2. Heidi said,

    So proud of you!


What do you think?

